The Exploit Database

The Exploit Database is an online archive of exploits and vulnerable software. It is a great resource for testers, vulnerability researchers, security addicts and developers.
Check it: http://www.exploit-db.com

How to remove the “No Valid Subscription” message on Proxmox

Proxmox 3.1 has implemented a new repository setup, as described in my recent blog post.

Each time you log into Proxmox 3.1 a dialogue box pops up with the message:

You do not have a valid subscription for this server. Please visit www.proxmox.com to get a list of available options.

One way to remove the message is to purchase a subscription from the Proxmox team. Remember that paying subscriptions keeps the development of Proxmox progressing. For the recent release, the subscription cost has been heavily reduced and is more affordable than ever.

The fact of the matter is, I started using Proxmox as a free and open source tool and expected it to stay that way. Had I known a subscription element would have been introduced, I would likely have chosen another toolset. As it is, I am too invested in Proxmox (time-wise) and changing to another technology is simply out of the question at this point. This brings me onto the other method; make a slight change to the code to remove the dialogue box from appearing. This is allowed under the License (aGPLv3) used for Proxmox however future updates may break your code and you may have to re-apply it or apply a different change.

You will need SSH access to the Proxmox host with the required access to edit the pvemanagerlib.js file.

First, take a backup of the file:

cp /usr/share/pve-manager/ext4/pvemanagerlib.js /usr/share/pve-manager/ext4/pvemanagerlib.js_BKP

Then open the file using a text editor, vi for example.

vi /usr/share/pve-manager/ext4/pvemanagerlib.js

Currently on line 450 of the file, however it may change with future updates, there is a line similar to below;

if (data.status !== ‘Active’) {

This line is doing the check to see if your subscription status is not ‘Active’. This needs to be changed to return false to stop the subscription message from being shown.

if (false) {

And that annoying little popup will be a thing of the past!

Note: You may need to clear your web browser cache after applying this code change.